Home

Flying While Arab

February 26, 2010

I once met an Egyptian guy on a plane from Philadelphia to Minneapolis. He turned to me and said, “they let you carry that on?” I was puzzled as I had no carry-on baggage. “The water bottle,” he explained. “They would never let me carry anything like that. We call it FWA,” he said, “flying while Arab.”

Apparently, just as the Israeli government is cracking down on human-rights activists, NGO workers and travellers to Israel suspected of being friendly to Palestinians, the US government decided to join the abuse by arresting college student Nick George. Nick had some Arabic-language flash-cards in his backpack. Apparently, this makes him a threat to security.

One Response to “Flying While Arab”


  1. Also, as an Arab, I won’t be able to get a Visa to the US if my passport picture is a picture of me smiling…I have to be expressionless…
    Obviously my smile is a thread to security too 🙂


Leave a Reply

